Skip to main content


Featured Post

Explaining Time through Hiranyagarbha...

Taking a break from Aditya Hrdayam Series, posting this video that explains Time using Hiranyagarbha, the four dimensional spacetime. This is my son's contribution to Breakthrough Junior Challenge starting today. The challenge is to explain a science concept simplistically in 3 mins. He has tried to explain the concept of 'time' using Hiranyagarbha, the four dimensional spacetime. As part of Aditya Hrdayam Series, will be explaining the Hiranyagarbha suktam later. Please watch, share, feedback on the youtube video. -TBT
Recent posts

Sharada Bhujangam

Background Sarasvati, sAradha and bhArati are three different names of the same entity. They are all recognized as 'goddess of knowledge'.  In thermodynamic term, they are the entropy or indication of micro-states of matter. In information theory, they are information content. In consciousness term, they are the knowledge. The three aspects of Entropy (sarasvati, sAradha, bhArati) Entropy has 3 different aspects. They are 1. Entropy is one parameter that keeps expanding always. saras means that is flowing or moving continuously or expanding (for eg., like a body of water). Sarasvat is entropy that is continuously expanding. In that it is Sarasvati 2. Entropy indicates state information, the state in which a matter form exists. It is the information content or state information 'borne' by that matter form. In that it is bhArati. 'bhArati' is that bears this state of information. 3. Entropy is an arrow of time or that continuously matures in time. zarad indicates

Meenakshi Pancharatnam

Background Shiva is energy. Uma which means quiet is potential energy in matter forms. durgA which means impassable or cannot be crossed over, is kinetic energy of matter forms.  Tripura sundari is the vacuum energy that fills the three dimensional empty space. Adi Shankaracharya calls 'mInAksI' as the ocean of bliss that fills the inside of all, becomes their fundamental 'rhythm' on which they are built, combination of Sri-Vidhya and Uma, the true/fundamental/realistic form of Shiva or the representation of Shiva,  to whom Vishnu, Brahma and Indra submit to or make use of, that which is more elder/respected/senior than vAni and rama, but junior to nArAyaNa. According to science, the bliss that fills the inside of all, the fundamental rhythm underlying all, the fundamental and true representation of energy in all matter and beings is oscillations of zero-point energy.  Zero point energy is a combination of Kinetic and potential energy. Mass, Spacetime curvature/gravity

Totaka ashtakam Video


Totaka ashtakam

Background  Totaka ashtakam details the characteristics and attributes of Shankara.  We understand Shankara had the understanding of all the shastras, upanishads, learnt various philosophies, made people to self-realize and understand the concepts of Isvara and Jiva, created thoughts that become good deeds,  made them desire for neutral/equanimous perspectives, walked and travelled across like a ray of light, had none other in comparison to being in oneness. That's quite a breadth of information on Shankara.   Totaka ashtakam is said to be written by one Shankara's disciples (mookha kavi) who never spoke for a long time and the first words he spoke were the totaka-ashtakam.  The disciple declares that he knows very little and has little wealth and wants to surrender at the feet of Shankara to gain knowledge. It's so intriguing to note that this description of Shankara remains an apt description for mahA-periyava. Summary of Totaka-ashtakam You know the ocean of sastras, mea

Hanuman Pancharatnam

Background Hanuman pancha-ratnam is a set of five stanzas that talk of Hanuman's characteristics, teach bhakti of Hanuman and through that bhakti, teaches us to inspire ourselves and acquire jnAna. vRsa-kapi Hanuman is called vRsa-kapi, which means 'strong masculine monkey' or alpha-male (roughly). An alpha-male is a monkey that leads the group, stands alone and detached from the rest on top of the group, extremely powerful. Hanuman made himself powerful, stood tall, alone and detached from the rest of the monkey troops, provided that leadership to monkey troops. Hence Hanuman is called vRsa-kapi. Hanuman - The inheritor of vAyu Hanuman is son of Kesari and Anjana. But Hanuman inherits the property of vAyu. Hence hanuman is also called vAta-atmaja, vAyu-suta etc.. (inheritor of vAyu). The five properties of vAyu There are five properties of vAyu (air or gas or molecular cloud or ensemble of molecules). They are 1. There are no interactive forces (i.e., attraction or repulsi

kAsi panchakam

Background kAsi panchakam explains what is kAsi  kAsi is a 'tirtha'. 'tirtha' is a sacred place. When does any place become sacred place..? In short kAsi panchakam says, a place becomes sacred when there is the detached observer (Shiva) and a flow of knowledge (Ganga) in that place.  Such a tirtha with Ganga and Shiva is called kAsi. Over a period this has descended into the physical forms of Ganga and Shiva. kAsi panchakam steps in and explains what indeed is that Shiva and Ganga. The entire Universe is kAsi, as there is detached observer and flow of knowledge in it. Our body is kAsi, as there is detached observer and flow of knowledge in it.  From very ancient times, the city of varanasi has been a center of knowledge. Scholars from across the world came to kAsi and hence there was flow of knowledge in the city. Shiva, the detached observer, resided in kAsi in various forms. Scholars in kAsi were also working on the knowledge of realizing that self, the detached obser

Tripura Sundari Ashtakam

Background Shiva is Energy. Three eyes of Shiva, the energy are the three sources of energy external to all matter forms. They are Dark Energy that expands the Universe, Cosmic Microwave Background that radiates over the Universe's space and Vacuum energy that fills the otherwise empty space. These three are the three eyes or sources of Shiva, the energy. Tripura- Sundari The energy that fills up the matter forms, as their 'internal energy' is Easwari. This internal energy is made of Potential (Uma) energy and Kinetic (durgA) energy. This internal energy that fills the matter forms is also called 'nArAyaNi' because it has 2 components that are 'Usable' (Lakshmi) that becomes energy of matter forms and 'Unsuable' (Sarasvati) that becomes entropy of matter forms. Same way, the energy that fills the 3 dimensions of the four dimensional space is called tri-pura-sundari. It is the vacuum energy as in modern science.  Since the vacuum energy makes the othe